Kya Chahta hai Dil?

Khamoshiyan chahta hai dil,

phir akelepan se kyun ghabrata hai dil?

Tanhaaeyon ki raah acchi hi thi anjani,

Chalkar sheekhne ki yeh zid kyun hamne thani?

Khud par guroor itna kiya nahi kabhi tha

Jiska muaavza ab jhila rahi yeh manzil…

Ansun, udhen-bun kya ab shab talak chalenge?

Yehi khayal ab toh dahala raha hai dil…

Tanhaeeyon se bhagta hai dil…

Tanhaeeyon se machalta hai dil,

Phir tanhaeeyon mein hi kyun samhalta hai dil?

Khamoshiyan chahta hai dil,

phir akelepan se kyun ghabrata hai dil?

Hazaron aankhon ke beech khud ko khoya mahsoos karo

Hazar logon ke beech bhi akela mahsoos karo

Aisa kab chahta hai dil?

Par jab akela baith dil ko humne tatola,

Toh apnapan, pyar mangta hai dil,

Apno ka sahara, khayal mangta hai dil,

Akelapan kya janta hai dil?

Kehte hai dil massom hai,

Kya isiliye pachtata hai dil?

Akhir, kya chahta hai dil?…..

About Tanaya

Just another ordinary girl, who strives to be not so ordinary. I'm pathologically introspective, on a constant rampage to make everything in life have meaning, and trying, in the process, to understand myself 'honestly'. I'm also a biology grad student and a fun loving person who enjoys artistic creativity and music.

Posted on January 15, 2013, in Hindi Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Considering my hindi, this is way too long mate. I’m sure its beautiful and all. But its sheer lenght scared me after the first line. Know any limerics, I can read those 😛

    • Amba Priya Dube

      Considering your hindi, you should probably reconsider reading hindi poems at all. Not only will they scare you(as you claimed), you would also do great injustice to the meaning of the poem, not understanding it at all.
      Can’t promise you limericks, but most of my posts are in english, and if they aren’t so scary, you may continue reading my blog. 🙂

  2. brutal, well played, i’m impressed, I admire the skill in your comment, almost seems as if you werent pissed off with my comment, i can learn many things from you amba, if your willing to teach me that is

  3. Amba Priya Dube

    I was not pissed off by the comment, till I realised who its from. Then it just became funny!! 🙂
    And i’m not sure how good a teacher i will be, but I can always try! 😉

Leave a Reply

